Wild Atlantic Way

Oyster Farm Tour

Fresh Oysters, Clear waters and
Spectacular Views

Join us on our farm tour and see first-hand the life cycle of an oyster. As part of the tour you will enjoy the taste of oysters fresh from the Atlantic Sea.

Our tour is a one hour guided tour by
our oyster farmer Jimmy

Jimmy will share his years of experience at oyster farming and explain what is involved in getting the oyster from these shores to a plate in restaurants worldwide

By the end of the tour, you will have visited an oyster farm, learnt about the different oyster farming methods. You will have an understanding of how our oysters are grown from seed to Jumbo size and what is involved in getting them restaurant ready. You will also have received a demonstration of how to shuck (open) an oyster and best of all get to taste an oyster fresh out of the water. A taste of sweetness with a hint of peat gives the oyster a unique iodised taste that best describes the experience of eating a ‘Gallagher’s Special Oyster’!

Throughout the tour you will have the chance to ask any questions and by the end you will be an expert on all things oysters!

Bookings

Pre booking essential, as our bay is tidal and we can only offer tour when the tide is out

The tour will involve a gentle 300m walk on the beach to the farm

Child
5.00per child
Adult
15.00per person
Families & Groups
Special Family Group Rates

E-mail: info@ipo.ie

Tel: +353 86 6044478

*Special family group rates
Plenty of car parking and bays for small buses but no large coach facilities

Our Next Tours

Monday 2nd September 2.30 pm

Tuesday 3rd September 3.00 pm

Wednesday 4th September 4.00 pm

Tuesday 10th September 11.00 am

Wednesday 11th September 11.00 am

Thursday 12th September 11.45am

Friday 13th September 12.15 pm

Saturday 14th September  12.45 pm

Monday 16th September 1.45 pm

Tuesday 17th September 2.15 pm

Wednesday 18th September 2.45 pm

Thursday 19th September 3.30 pm

Friday 20th September 4.00 pm. 

………………………

Remember to wear weather appropriate clothing
Wear beach appropriate footwear, you may have to walk
in a couple inches of water, depending on tide.