Wild Atlantic Way

Oyster Farm Tour

Fresh Oysters, Clear waters and
Spectacular Views

Join us on our farm tour and see first-hand the life cycle of an oyster. As part of the tour you will enjoy the taste of oysters fresh from the Atlantic Sea.

Our tour is a one hour guided tour by
our oyster farmer Jimmy

Jimmy will share his years of experience at oyster farming and explain what is involved in getting the oyster from these shores to a plate in restaurants worldwide

By the end of the tour, you will have visited an oyster farm, learnt about the different oyster farming methods. You will have an understanding of how our oysters are grown from seed to Jumbo size and what is involved in getting them restaurant ready. You will also have received a demonstration of how to shuck (open) an oyster and best of all get to taste an oyster fresh out of the water. A taste of sweetness with a hint of peat gives the oyster a unique iodised taste that best describes the experience of eating a ‘Gallagher’s Special Oyster’!

Throughout the tour you will have the chance to ask any questions and by the end you will be an expert on all things oysters!

Bookings

Pre booking essential, as our bay is tidal and we can only offer tour when the tide is out

The tour will involve a gentle 300m walk on the beach to the farm

Child
5.00per child
Adult
15.00per person
Families & Groups
Special Family Group Rates

E-mail: info@ipo.ie

Tel: +353 86 6044478

*Special family group rates
Plenty of car parking and bays for small buses but no large coach facilities

Our Next Tours

These are the dates and times of our tours over the coming weeks

Saturday 1st August @ 12.00 pm

Monday 3rd August @ 13.30 pm

Tuesday 4th August @14.00 pm

Wednesday 5th August @ 15.00 pm

Friday 7th August @ 16.00 pm

Saturday 8th August @ 15.30 pm

Monday 10th August @ 16.00 pm

Friday 14th August @ 10.00 am

Monday 17th August @ 12.30 pm

Wednesday 19th August @ 14.00 pm

Thursday 20th August @ 14.30 pm

Friday 21st August @ 15.00 pm

Saturday 22nd August @ 16.00 pm

Monday 24th August @ 15.30 pm

Friday 28th August @ 10.00 am

Saturday 29th August @ 11.00 am

Monday 31st August @ 12.30 pm.

 

Please contact us directly for the times of tours after the above dates.

…………………..

Remember to wear weather appropriate clothing
Wear beach appropriate footwear, you may have to walk
in a couple inches of water, depending on tide.