Fresh Oysters, Clear waters and
Spectacular Views

Join us on our farm tour and see first-hand the life cycle of an oyster. As part of the tour you will enjoy the taste of oysters fresh from the Atlantic Sea.

Our tour is a one hour guided tour by
our oyster farmer Jimmy

Jimmy will share his years of experience at oyster farming and explain what is involved in getting the oyster from these shores to a plate in restaurants worldwide

By the end of the tour, you will have visited an oyster farm, learnt about the different oyster farming methods. You will have an understanding of how our oysters are grown from seed to Jumbo size and what is involved in getting them restaurant ready. You will also have received a demonstration of how to shuck (open) an oyster and best of all get to taste an oyster fresh out of the water. A taste of sweetness with a hint of peat gives the oyster a unique iodised taste that best describes the experience of eating a ‘Gallagher’s Special Oyster’!

Throughout the tour you will have the chance to ask any questions and by the end you will be an expert on all things oysters!

Bookings

Pre booking essential, as our bay is tidal and we can only offer tour when the tide is out

The tour will involve a gentle 300m walk on the beach to the farm

Child
5.00per child
Adult
15.00per person
Families & Groups
Special Family Group Rates

E-mail: info@ipo.ie

Tel: +353 86 6044478

*Special family group rates
Plenty of car parking and bays for small buses but no large coach facilities

Our Next Tours

 

Please see below the tour times for the remainder of 2021, contact us through the website or directly by mobile.

Wed 17th November 2021 @ 10.00am.

Thursday 18th November @ 10.30am

Friday 19th November @ 11.00am

Saturday 20th November @ 11.30 am

Monday 22nd November @ 12.30 pm

Wednesday 24th November @ 13.30pm

Thursday 25th November @ 14.30 pm

Friday 26th November @ 15.00 pm

Friday 3rd December @ 10.00 am

Saturday 4th December @ 11.00 am

Monday 6th December @ 12.30 am

Wednesday 8th December @ 14.00 pm

Thursday 9th December @ 15.00 pm

Wednesday 15th December @ 9.30 am

Thursday 16th December @ 10.00 am

Friday 17th December @ 10.00 am 

Saturday 18th December @ 11.30 pm

Wednesday 22nd December @ 14.00 pm

Thursday 23rd December @ 14.30 pm

Friday 31st December @ 10.00 am.

 

 

Due to COVID 19, we are only offering small tours in line with Government guidelines.

…………………..

Remember to wear weather appropriate clothing
Wear beach appropriate footwear, you will have to walk
in a couple inches of water, depending on tide.